Birthday, Kids, Scrapbooking, Single Photo

Layout: Party Pic


This is from 2-3 years ago (wow, I need to lose weight again…) at a friends’ child’s 2nd birthday party.  We lobbied long and hard to get invited to these shindigs (not sure why anyone would turn down a free present for their kid…  Oh, wait, yeah, I do get that… lol).  They kind of dragged their feet on it, maybe because we were having trouble having kids and they thought we wouldn’t enjoy it.  But we love all these kids, and wanted to celebrate them, too, so evidence that we were there was hard-won!

I’m not sure if you’ve noticed, but I am NOT a vintage gal.  I usually do clean, bright layouts.  But I love Tim Holtz’s work, and I love vintage items in general, and I keep buying antique-y, distress-y products…  I have also always turned up my nose at beginning a layout with product as inspiration.  It seemed so… materialistic? shallow? superficial?  Not sure.  lol  But I started with a product this time, and picked everything else to match, including the photo.  I have such a stash, it’s time it starts getting used.  And since I never think to look at my grungy embellishments when I scrap picture-first, I figured I should start there every so often so they get used, someway, somehow.  So the photo corners and bookplates were the starting points for this whole layout.

The balloons on the blue bookplate (trimmed down so it looks like a tag) sparked a memory of this party.  T and I were both in grad school.  I was working a few part time gigs, and he was full time, but we were hurting financially.  So we bought Luke a giant mylar balloon.  That’s it, it’s what we could afford at the time.  And may I say?  He loved it.  It was the hit of the party.  :-)

3 thoughts on “Layout: Party Pic”

    1. Don’t be ashamed, I totally did, too! But we had been around these kids for years–so it wasn’t as fresh as when they were still babies… I still remember how difficult it was to go to a baby shower for a very close friend of mine–I lost it, sobbing in the bathroom and had to leave early. I still feel awful about that, I shouldn’t have gone at all. I know she knew, too, and I didn’t want to put a damper on her party.

Leave a Reply

