Counterfeit Kits, Everyday, Scrapbooking, Travel

Counterfeit Kit Challenge Blog Hop!


Hi! If you’ve never been here before, welcome and thanks for visiting! Today is the Counterfeit Kit Challenge Blog Hop. I just discovered this challenge blog this month, and really love the concept. You can check them out here if they are unfamiliar to you or if you’d like to check out the blog hop from the beginning. And you can check out all of my Counterfeit posts by clicking here (and I still have more stuff to share from this kit, so please come back!).

The challenge for the blog hop was to scraplift yourself. I have to admit that I already do this quite often. I use the same layout design over and over and over again. I like white space, grouping photos tightly together, and creating a layered title. I do these things in a variety of ways, but I do them again and again. So really, anytime I scrap it is likely that I am scraplifting myself in one way or another. Here’s my past layout that I used as inspiration:

And here is my new version, using my March add-on kit, Fauxflower:

From the original, I kept the cockeyed orientation of the two side by side photos, stuck journaling off to the left, and built the title to the right (although it is moved down more to center since the righthand photo was horizontal orientation, and thus longer than the original layout). (Also, the ice cream cones were originally homemade flower embellishments, but a little crimped paper turned them into waffle cones.) :-) I didn’t have a diecut background piece, but used a scallop border punch on the top and bottom to emulate that. I used rhinestone brads and glitter stickers to echo the bling used on the journaling block butterfly of the original. The original layout used non-vintage, but vintage-looking Jenni Bowlin paper. I used some vintage-looking paper (the retro couple background piece and popped by the title) and some actual vintage (shorthand training manual). What do you think?

Thanks again for stopping by, and enjoy the hop! The next stop is Jessica’s blog–click here to visit!

25 thoughts on “Counterfeit Kit Challenge Blog Hop!”

  1. I love white space but can’t do it! I fill every corner! But both your layouts here are gorgeous! I love tilted photos. Thanks for sharing

  2. Love how you made those ice cream cones! How nice that you know how you like to scrap and can get right to making such wonderful pages!

  3. So glad you played along this month. And as everyone said, great idea to use the scallop as ice cream.

  4. Love those ice cream cones.
    I have some layouts to do that incorporate Saturday night Ice Cream Socials at our Rv resort. Walking up to the clubhouse is a Saturday night ritual…now i know how to work them into my page…thanks!
    I will give you full credit of course.

  5. Oh those ice cream cones look great – and I just too ice cream shots today too!

    Cool to see how you’d tweaked the design and glad I’m not the only one who scraplifts myself on a regular basis.

Leave a Reply

