Baby Baby, Bed Rest, Family

OK, it’s kicking in…


I am significantly less stressed on bed rest.  My contractions are nearly non-existent, and I am able to catch up on sleep when insomnia or baby kicks keep me up.  BUT.  I have  been on the main level of our house (we have a garage, family room, and laundry room downstairs) now since Valentine’s Day.  I did go out on the deck once for a few minutes last week.  Otherwise, I shuffle  between the air mattress in the living room, the bed in the guest room, or our bed in the master  bedroom.  I am starting to get worried about blood clots and downing water like I’m the personification of the Saharan desert.  I might be getting a touch of cabin fever, but I think that doesn’t bother me as much as it would other people because I’m a big homebody in general.  More than anything, I am just getting over all restless.  I started reading a bunch of old Splitcoaststampers Weekly Inklings and it has made me miss scrapbooking so much.  I just can’t do it lying down…  I think if I could sit up in bed, I’d be fine.  There’s so many ways I could keep busy if I could sit up…  It’s just difficult being flat so much…  You can only prop yourself up on one arm for so long.  I am starting to feel sorry for myself and third trimester hormone floods aren’t helping.  I’m being overly sensitive, feeling left out, and reading too much about scary birth stories.

OK, so pity party over.  I know that this is worth it.  I know that our baby will make me forget every frustrating moment.  And we have waited so long, this is a drop in the bucket compared to the struggles we faced to even get this far.  I know it, I do.  And my mother jokes that I always find the hardest way to do everything, so this is par for the course, right?  :-)  (That actually really made me chuckle, it is so true.)  We have so much to look forward to.

This is our crib--but without all the bedding. We'll have a simple fitted sheet, and hopefully find a dust ruffle, but otherwise none of the fancy bedding--did you know you're not supposed to use all the pretty stuff because of risk of SIDS? Things no one tells you...!

Even if little baby is early, at this point, he or she has a very good chance of not only surviving, but thriving, with smaller and smaller chances of any long-term problems every single day.  In fact, my fetal fibronectin test was negative, which means baby should be staying put until the end of February at the least, putting him or her at almost 32 weeks.  At 32 weeks, they may have a NICU stay, but studies show no overall long-term difficulties between 32 weekers and full-term babies.  So we’re good.  I know we are.

And we’re blessed.  Church, T’s work, and my work are all providing meals.  My mom and dad are coming this weekend, and mom is totally spoiling me, cooking some of my favorites, and leaving us goodies for the next week.  My dad will help T complete a bunch of little projects around the house, including putting the crib together, which will be so neat to see in the nursery.  We’re getting help cleaning our house next week…  I know this is definitely not the end of the world, merely a pitstop on the way to a huge huge change in our lives that we have looked forward to for so long…

I just have to remind myself sometimes, ya know?  Thanks for listening.  ;-)

6 thoughts on “OK, it’s kicking in…”

  1. {HUMUNGUS HUGS} :D
    glad to read that you are in fact doing what is best for both you and the babe ;)
    Don’t go and get yourself all pysched out about other people’s birth stories. EVERYONE is different, and everyone reacts different to the situation they are in. Something I might FREAK about, you’d probably laugh at! ;)
    I’m cheering for you!!!

    1. Thank you, Jen! Whenever I share something with T from the birth stories, he tells me to quit reading them. But they are fascinating! (when I’m in a good mood, anyway) LOL

  2. WOW sweetie – so much thought and perspective in this post! I’m so glad that you’re doing well and that you’re thisclose to being okay if the little guppy comes early!! Please know that you’re in my thoughts and prayers and I can’t wait to meet this angel from Heaven, if only in pictures and stories!! ((((HUGS))))) ~ Molly

  3. Wow Ann Marie, I’m sure it’s hard, I can’t imagine, but you’re right it has to be SO worth it. Thanks for the update. I’ve been thinking about you a lot since I heard you were on bed rest. I’m glad you have lots of support. You are very blessed.

Leave a Reply

