Baby, Baby Baby, No Photo, Scrapbooking, Silhouette SD, YAWYK

The Reindeer Cha-Cha


I made this layout for a challenge at ScrapJazz.  I’d been wanting to make it for awhile, but had no plan for it, and the challenge was just what I needed to help me actually do it.  We were to use a holiday theme, journaling, chipboard, and buttons.  I love how this turned out!

The reindeer was paper pieced using my Silhouette.  You can get the free file here at the Quilling Patch.  I love how the BasicGrey paper goes with the red & pink text paper.  I used an exacto and glass mat to cut out part of the big blue flower from the background paper and let it overlap the frame for the journaling to give the title a home.  I used up some more Heidi Swapp chipboard letters (man I love those and I don’t think they exist anymore), and added a button as a hyphen.  I scattered some more buttons along the bottom inside the circle graphics, and touched up a lot of places with my clear glitter gel pen (love doing that).

The journaling reads, It was the highlight of my Christmas–feeling you move for the first time.  I think I had been feeling you swish around, but I was waiting for the big one.  Then, in my Primary group at Northwood, there you were!  It was a music day, and I taught them a little dance called the “Reindeer Cha-Cha.”  “Reindeer 4, Reindeer 5, let’s all do the reindeer jive!”  And then you wiggle your hips down to the floor and back up…  On the way back up, I felt a big “swish-thump,” and my heart jumped in my throat, racing.  There you were!!!  It was so amazing, and cute, and wonderful–I hope it means you like music and dancing!  Because, baby, we will do the reindeer jive next year.  :-) xoxox

YAWYK: 8/2011

I like how Becky is counting her small items like individual letters, etc., so I am going to do that, too!

1-3) 3 sheets patterned paper & cardstock
4) buttons
5-7) journaling spots
8) chipboard letters

Anyone else doing YAWYK this year?

Leave a Reply

