Father’s Day Layout, 2012


I made this layout for T for Father’s Day.  It took me a couple of days while I cooked dinner–I’d set something to simmering, or nuke something in the microwave, or set the timer as the pasta boiled, and slip back to my scrapbook room to do one part of the layout before going back to check in on dinner.  And I didn’t burn anything!  Not more than usual, anyway.  ;-)

A sheet of kraft served as my base, topped with a stretch of navy blue (one of my current fave colors in sbing) cardstock that I distressed so it would match the feel of the plaid patterned paper that I used.  I used clay and white Mr. Huey sprays, then roughed up the edges with my scissors.  I dipped in my sticker box, a rarity for me, but something I need to do more often so I can use up my stash, and used several ancient epoxy stickers.  I think they’re MAMBI, and I’m not even sure they’re still around anymore?  Certainly those stickers aren’t.  I was pleased they hadn’t yellowed and were still super sticky.  I used some warm calico Mr. Huey spray on the type paper, as the bright white didn’t go with the cream tone underlying the plaid.  Speaking of that plaid paper–I received it in a PIF from a friend YEARS ago…  this layout was apparently all about busting my stash!  The cream cardstock that looks like beadboard?  One of my very first purchases as a scrapbooker, at least 8 years ago.  I used my Silhouette and a free design by Kerri Bradford to create the title.

Some staples to reinforce the grungy, masculine feel, and some handstitching to finish the tiny-touches-of-orange visual triangle.  The journaling reads, “Thank you for loving me, snuggling me, feeding me, cleaning me, playing with me, singing to me, rocking me, teaching me…” These pictures are some of my favorites, from last year when he was just over 2 months old. Love those little hands.

5 thoughts on “Father’s Day Layout, 2012

  1. Aww – so sweet! I, too, love kraft and navy together. Great use of “old” supplies. And I’m liking your blog header ;)

  2. Love this Ann!!! yay for you…using up old stash! Those epoxy stickers look wonderful, they’re just a right touch!

Leave a Reply

